Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.

Level 4 Computing – BTEC Higher National Certificate

Save as PDF

Course NameStart DateEnd DateCampusTotal Fees 
Computing BTEC HNC09/09/202115/06/2023 £5,000.00Available for applications

Will I have to pay fees?

School Leavers under the age of 19 do not have to pay fees on any full time courses, though may have to pay for their second year if turning 19 during their studies.

If you’re aged 19 or over you might qualify for an Advanced Learner Loan. It’s easy to apply for and you won’t have to pay anything back until you’re earning over £25,725 a year. Find more information on Advanced Learner Loans on our website.

If you are studying a part-time course and you receive one of the following benefits, or you depend financially on someone who does, you may be entitled to have your tuition fees waived:

  • Job Seeker's Allowance
  • Income Support

You will, however, have to pay any awarding body/assessment fees (unless you are on a first full level 2 course).

* If you are in receipt of Working Tax Credit or receive other allowances, you may be eligible to claim concessionary rates. If you are entitled to a fee concession you will be asked to provide proof of your entitlement.

It is essential that you inform us if your entitlement changes at any time during your course.

For any questions about fees, remissions and entitlements, please contact our helpful Enrolments Team on 01329 815 200.

Information about this Course

Study Type
Higher Education

Course Area
Computing & Game Development

Two Years

Entry Requirements
Level 3 qualification in Computing and/or ICT or equivalent experience, plus Maths and English at grade 9-4.

Course Information

This course is designed for students who are looking to embark on a range of different careers within computing. It is ideal for anyone at the beginning of their career or looking to improve their qualifications or career prospects.

You will develop a broad knowledge and awareness of key aspects of the computing sector through six core units, which include one unit assessed by a Pearson-set assignment.
The units comprise:

  • Programming
  • Networking
  • Database design and development
  • Security

Assessment is continuous and will take a variety of forms including written reports and reflections, presentations and portfolios of work. There will be a requirement of independent study outside of taught sessions which could amount to eight hours per week and some units will require significant self-study.

On successful completion of the Level 4 Higher National Certificate you can develop a career in the computing sector either through entering employment or progressing onto a number of different higher education courses such as the Level 5 Higher National Diploma in Computing and honours degree programmes in Computing.